The President of the National Federation of Cypriots in the United Kingdom, Peter Droussiotis, today urged all UK Cypriots and friends of Cyprus to show the strength of their collective commitment to a free, united Cyprus to the new Prime Minister, David Cameron, and their opposition to Turkey’s military occupation of the island’s northern part, by joining a picket, march and rally in London on Sunday 18th July 2010.

The annual rally, organised by the Federation to mark Turkey’s military invasion of Cyprus in July 1974, is the biggest opportunity for the UK Cypriot community and friends of Cyprus to voice their feelings on the tragic and scandalous division which still plagues the island 36 years after the Turkish army invaded and occupied its northern territory.

Mr Droussiotis emphasised that this year’s rally has special significance:

“It is more important than ever that we demonstrate our support for a free and united Cyprus, as well as our opposition to the illegal Turkish military occupation. We have a new Government in the United Kingdom and it must be made aware that our community in this country will not give up on Cyprus.

“The ongoing dialogue on the island must not be allowed to break down on account of the new Turkish Cypriot leader Dervis Eroglu’s refusal to negotiate in good faith. The United Kingdom has a particular responsibility, as a Guarantor Power of the island’s independence and territorial integrity, to use its influence over Turkey to ensure that the latter works genuinely for a just and lasting settlement. Turkey must no longer block progress and that message must get through to Ankara. The Cypriot community in the UK must remind the British Government of its special responsibilities to Cyprus.”

The day’s events will begin with picketing outside the Turkish Embassy in Belgrave Square from 3.00pm on Sunday 18 July 2010, followed by a march through central London to Trafalgar Square where a rally will be held at 4.30pm.  The main speaker will be The Minister of Communications and Works of the Republic of Cyprus, Mrs. Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis. Other speakers will include British Parliamentarians and MEPs.