Rizokarpasso Association


Mary Helen Karaolis OBE (President)
Yiannis Chronias (Vice-President)
Nicki Elia (Secretary)
Andreas Gavrielides (Treasurer)
Kate Christoforou (Members)
Andy Joannou (Events)
Demetris Nicola (Community)
Maria Panteli (Legal)
Daphne Sophocleous (Digital Communications)
Andreas Strongolou (Culture)
Panayiotis Hadjipanayi (Honorary President)
Theodoulos Elia (Late Honorary President)

Website: www.rizokarpasso.org.uk
Email: rizokarpasso@gmail.com


The Association of Rizokarpasso in Britain was formed immediately after the Turkish invasion of Cyprus in 1974 which left approximately 1,500 Rizokarpassides displaced and 3,500 enclaved in Rizokarpasso. There are now only 228 Greek-Cypriots enclaved in Rizokarpasso, 45 of whom are schoolchildren. In 1974 there was an immediate need for urgent assistance and the Rizokarpassides in the UK decided the best vehicle to help was the formation of The Association of Rizokarpasso in Britain.

From its beginning, in 1975, the Association has had regular contact with the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office and Members of Parliament as well as other decision making centres of power abroad. For 43 years it has actively campaigned for a just and viable solution in Cyprus, for an end to the illegal occupation of Cyprus, the withdrawal of Turkish troops and settlers, and the return of the refugees to their homes and properties. At the same time the Association has provided financial support to the enclaved and other Rizokarpassides, as appropriate, raising money mainly through an annual dinner and dance.