The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Cyprus held its first Annual General Meeting of the new Parliament on Tuesday 4 February 2020. The AGM was convened by the National Federation of Cypriots in the UK, which is the Secretariat for the APPG for Cyprus. Amongst the business of the meeting, elections were held and new members of the APPG were registered. The composition of the APPG for Cyprus can be found at the bottom of this article.

Following the conclusion of the elections, the High Commissioner of the Republic of Cyprus in the UK, Mr Andreas Kakouris, briefed MPs on the latest developments regarding the Cyprus issue, Turkey’s aggressive and illegal actions in the Republic of Cyprus’ Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) and key issues in relation to Brexit. Mr Kakouris emphasised that the President of the Republic of Cyprus hopes that negotiations will restart soon and said that the meeting between President Anastasiades, Turkish Cypriot leader Mr Akinci and the United Nations Secretary General in Berlin in November was encouraging. He emphasised that “the power to solve the Cyprus issue lies with Turkey and President Erdogan” but warned, “it is hard for the Government of Cyprus to negotiate under duress given Turkey’s ‘might is right’ attitude, its violations of the Republic of Cyprus’ sovereign EEZ rights and its threats to unilaterally inhabit Famagusta outside of the framework of the United Nations.”

The President of the National Federation of Cypriots in the UK, Mr Christos Karaolis, also discussed issues of concern to the UK Cypriot community with the MPs, many of whom have constituents of Cypriot origin.

The Chair of the APPG for Cyprus, Sir Roger Gale MP, commented that “This was a productive first meeting of the reformed Group in this Parliament, and there is plenty for us to do this year. It is an important time for Cyprus and we are eager and ready to support efforts to restart negotiations for a truly free and reunited Cyprus. With regards to Turkeys recent illegal drilling and aggression in the Republic of Cyprus’ EEZ, this must stop as it undermines the climate of trust and confidence that is required for negotiations to be successful.”


APPG for Cyprus

Chair: Sir Roger Gale, MP for North Thanet (Conservative)

Vice-Chair: Bambos Charalambous, MP for Enfield Southgate (Labour)

Vice-Chair: Christine Jardine, MP for Edinburgh West (Liberal Democrat)

Vice-Chair: Caroline Nokes, MP for Romsey and Southampton North (Conservative)

Secretary: Jack Dromey, MP for Birmingham Erdington (Labour)

Treasurer: Sheryll Murray, MP for South East Cornwall (Conservative)

Officer: Lord Adonis (Labour)

Officer: Tonia Antoniazzi, MP for Gower (Labour)

Officer: Bob Blackman, MP for Harrow East (Conservative)

Officer: Dan Carden, MP for Liverpool Walton (Labour)

Officer: Sarah Champion, MP for Rotherham (Labour)

Officer: Feryal Clark, MP for Enfield North (Labour)

Officer: John Cryer, MP for Leyton and Wanstead (Labour)

Officer: Judith Cummins, MP for Bradford South (Labour)

Officer: Geraint Davies, MP for Swansea West (Labour)

Officer: Tan Dhesi, MP for Slough (Labour)

Officer: Stephen Doughty, MP for Cardiff South and Penarth (Labour)

Officer: Lord Dykes (Crossbench)

Officer: Nigel Evans, MP for Ribble Valley (Conservative)

Officer: Carolyn Harris, MP for Swansea East (Labour)

Officer: Mark Jenkinson, MP for Workington (Conservative)

Officer: Sarah Jones, MP for Croydon Central (Labour)

Officer: Daniel Kawczynski, MP for Shrewsbury and Atcham (Conservative)

Officer: Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour)

Officer: Mark Menzies, MP for Fylde (Conservative)

Officer: Robin Millar, MP for Aberconwy (Conservative)

Officer: Angus MacNeil, MP for Na h-Eileanan an Iar (Scottish National Party)

Officer: Matthew Offord, MP for Hendon (Conservative)

Officer: Kate Osamor, MP for Edmonton (Labour)

Officer: Ian Paisley, MP for North Antrim (DUP)

Officer: Lord Rennard (Liberal Democrat)

Officer: Karl Turner, MP for Kingston upon Hull East (Labour)

Officer: Catherine West, MP for Hornsey and Wood Green (Labour)

Officer: Mike Wood, MP for Dudley South (Conservative)

Also present at the meeting was Fabian Hamilton MP, Shadow Minister for Peace and Disarmament.