On Tuesday 8th March, the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Cyprus held a warm and friendly roundtable discussion with the Deputy Mayor of Morphou, Kyriakos Koudounas and Councillors Ourania Peletie, Maro Kei and Katia Chambi from the exiled Morphou Municipality in Cyprus. Sir Roger Gale MP, Chair of the APPG for Cyprus, was joined by Bambos Charalambous MP (Vice-Chair), Theresa Villiers MP (Vice-Chair), Matthew Offord MP (Vice-Chair), Mark Jenkinson MP (Treasurer) and Catherine West MP (Officer) for the discussion. The High Commissioner for the Republic Cyprus, Andreas Kakouris, the President of the National Federation of Cypriots, Christos Karaolis and the Secretary of the Barnet Friends of Morphou, Andreas Karaolis, were also in attendance.

The Deputy Mayor and Councillors congratulated the Chair and Officers of the Cyprus APPG on their re-election, thanked them for their continued support and asked them to continue their efforts. Cllr Maro Kei read a message on behalf of the Mayor of Morphou, Cllr Victor Hadjiavraam, urging Parliamentarians and the UK Government to “exert pressure upon Turkey to change its attitude and work towards a just solution to the Cyprus problem and the restoration of basic human rights of all Cypriots”, stating that “in our ongoing struggle and efforts for freedom and justice, your contribution, in defending Cyprus’ sovereignty is of utmost importance”.

In closing, the Mayor’s message said that “Cyprus can become an example of reconciliation, peace, prosperity and stability, not only for the eastern Mediterranean, but for the world in general”.



Responding to the message of the Mayor of Morphou, the re-elected Chair of the APPG for Cyprus, Rt Hon. Sir Roger Gale MP, reiterated that “It is wholly unacceptable that for nearly fifty years a Member State of the Council Of Europe (Turkey) has been allowed to occupy land belonging to another Member State (Cyprus)”.

Sir Roger drew upon the “direct comparison between the occupation of the northern part of the island of Cyprus by Turkey and the annexation of Crimea by Russia”, stating that “In total solidarity with our friends in Ukraine we must also recognise that these ‘frozen conflicts’ must be resolved on the basis of the return of sovereign territory to, in each case, its own country”.

The High Commissioner of the Republic of Cyprus also briefed Parliamentarians on the latest developments on the Cyprus issue and the Eastern Mediterranean.