On Tuesday 8th March, the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Cyprus held its 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Parliament. The Rt. Hon. Sir Roger Gale MP was re-elected as Chair of the APPG alongside a cross-party team of parliamentarians (full list of results below).


Sir Roger thanked the Members of Parliament for his re-election and reiterated that “The election of the new President of Cyprus, Mr Nikos Christodoulides, gives fresh hope for the resumption of negotiations to find a just and viable solution to the Cyprus problem”. Sir Roger added that, the “All Party Group for Cyprus recognises the just cause of the people of Cyprus and will continue to work for the reunification of Cyprus and the right of all Cypriots to live in a free, united country, in peace and security under one democratically elected Government”. Also present at the AGM were Bambos Charalambous MP, Catherine West MP, Mark Jenkinson MP, Matthew Offord MP and Theresa Villiers MP


The President of the National Federation of Cypriots in the UK, Christos Karaolis, was also re-appointed as the Secretariat of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Cyprus. Closing the meeting he thanked the Chair of the APPG for Cyprus, Sir Roger Gale MP, and all the Officers for their commitment to, and support for, a truly free and reunited Cyprus.


APPG for Cyprus


Chair: Sir Roger Gale, MP (North Thanet, Conservative),



Lord Adonis (Labour),

Bambos Charalambous MP (Enfield, Southgate, Labour),

Christine Jardine MP (Edinburgh West, Liberal Democrat),

Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour),

Caroline Nokes MP (Romsey and Southampton North, Conservative),

Matthew Offord MP (Hendon, Conservative),

Chris Stephens MP (Glasgow South West, Scottish National Party),

Theresa Villiers MP (Chipping Barnet, Conservative)


Secretary: Rachel Hopkins MP (Luton South, Labour)

Treasurer: Mark Jenkinson MP (Workington, Conservative)