After a February visit by Paul Bristow MP, Stephen James Metcalfe MP, Brendan Clarke-Smith MP, The Lord Rogan of Lower Iveagh and The Baroness Blackstone to the illegally occupied area of the Republic of Cyprus, Federation President Christos Karaolis wrote to the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office seeking urgent clarification about the role of Her Majesty’s Government. Mr Karaolis also highlighted that the visit had caused “significant upset and distress among our community.”

In response to the letter, Head of the Mediterranean Department at the FCDO, Alison Kemp, reassured the Federation’s President and UK Cypriot community that the UK Government had “no contact” with the small group of UK parliamentarians that paid a visit to the illegally occupied area of Cyprus. Ms Kemp clarified as well that the group had not asked for official guidance or advice prior to their “private, unofficial visit.”

Ms Kemp continued “I would like to reiterate that the UK recognises only one Cypriot state – the Republic of Cyprus – and only one government as the sole legitimate government,” in response to the travel by some parliamentarians to the occupied northern part of Cyprus.

The response letter also referenced the official FCDO travel advice for British nationals which states that no full consular support could be provided to those visiting the areas in the north of the island which are not under the effective control of the Cypriot government.

They also noted that Prime Minister Rishi Sunak wrote to President Nikos Christodoulides to congratulate him on his election and to reaffirm the UK’s support for the UN-led process towards “a comprehensive, just and lasting Cyprus Settlement – on the basis of a bi-zonal, bi-communal federation.”